South Korea signs up for Nasa’s Artemis Accords

South Korea signs up for Nasa’s Artemis Accords

The accords are intended to be a practical set of principles to guide space exploration cooperation among the various nations participating in NASA’s lunar exploration plans.

Pictured, the Republic of Korea’s Minister of Science and ICT Lim Hyesook signed the Artemis Accords during a 24 May ceremony in Seoul.

“I am thrilled the Republic of Korea has committed to the Artemis Accords. Their signature demonstrates the strong momentum worldwide in supporting our Moon to Mars exploration approach,” said NASA Administrator Sen. Bill Nelson.

“Partnering in deep space will ensure our missions are carried out in accordance with important, universal principles like transparency, safety, and peaceful exploration, which are critical to ensuring a safe, and prosperous future in space for all.”

The country joins Australia, Canada, Italy, Japan, Luxembourg, the United Kingdom, the United Arab Emirates, Ukraine, and the United States.

“For successful space exploration, it is critical to implement space development activities transparently and responsibly by collaborating with the international community,” said Hyesook. “With the signing of the Artemis Accords, Korea would be able to strengthen cooperation with nations participating in the Accords in exploring the outer space.”

The Artemis Accords reinforce and implement the 1967 Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space, Including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies, otherwise known as the Outer Space Treaty.

They also cover the rescue of Astronauts and other expected norms of behaviour, including the public release of scientific data, debris disposal and registration of space objects.

You can read the official Artemis Accords online, as well as more about the Artemis programme itself.

Further countries are expected to sign the Accords shortly. Reports suggest Brazil and New Zealand as the most likely.

Image: ROK Minister of Science and ICT